ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Details

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Details: If you are looking for the important details of ICC T20 World Cup 2021, then you have reached the right place. Just after the completion of IPL 2021, cricket fans are in for a delight as another grander tournament, this time in the form of Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, is here. A total of 45 matches will be played in a month’s time with T20 World Cup 2021 Final set to be played on November 14. Find all the teams, groups, and other details of T20 World Cup 2021 below.

How many teams are participating in ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

A total of 16 teams will be participating in the T20 World Cup 2021. The top 8 teams are divided into 2 groups, i.e., Group 1 and 2. As for the remaining 8 teams (not qualified), they are classified into 2 groups, i.e., Group A and B.

Group A Group B Group 1 Group 2
Ireland Bangladesh England Afghanistan
Namibia Papua New Guinea Australia Pakistan
Sri Lanka Scotland South Africa India
Netherlands Oman West Indies New Zealand
What is the format of ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

There will be 2 rounds in Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 before 4 teams qualify for the semi-finals. In Round 1, each team from Group A and Group B will play each from respective groups. The top 4 teams (A1, A2, and B1, B2) will qualify for the Super 12 stage.

In Round 2, i.e., Super 12 stage, every team will play a game with a team in their group and aim to emerge on the top or on the second place. Each team in Group 1 and Group will be playing 5 matches, before the points tally determines the 4 semi-finalists. The semi-finals will see the best 2 teams compete to lift the ICC World Cup T20 trophy.

What are the dates of ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

The first T20 World Cup 2021 match will be played on October 17, two days after IPL 2021 final on October 15. The final of the multi-nation tournament will be played on November 14, i.e., Sunday.

Where will be the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 played?

This year the Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will be played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman across 4 venues:

  • Sharjah Cricket Stadium – Sharjah
  • Zayed Cricket Stadium – Abu Dhabi
  • Dubai International Cricket Stadium – Dubai
  • Al Amerat Cricket Ground – Oman

The 7th edition of the Men’s T20 World Cup was initially set to played in 2020 in Australia. However, due to Covid-19 pandemic, India was later declared to host the T20 World Cup 2020. Due to the possible the 3rd wave in the country, the ICC announced the tournament to be held in UAE and Oman, with Australia hosting the 2022 T20 World Cup.

With only 15 days left for T20 World Cup, fans are already excited about the cricketing event. West Indies are the defending champions, and it will be interesting to see which team lifts the Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 trophy this year.

Do let us know who will win the World Cup T20 this year in the comments section below. As for enjoying the upcoming World Cup with scrumptious delicacies, you can click here to find a list of delicious dishes.

Share The Journey
One thought on “ICC T20 World Cup 2021: All You Need To Know About Teams, Groups, Venues, Format, And Dates”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *